Another geological mystery SOLVED

I have said this before and I will say it again: natural mysteries can be solved through scientific diligence. The monumental crystals inside Mexico’s “Cueva de los Cristales” have long been a scientific mystery. Some even said that there were extra-terrestrial forces at play.

Cueva de los Cristales

Last spring a geologist at the University of Granada in Spain figured it out, cracked the code. The crystals enormous size was a result of their formation in abnormally rich mineral water within a very narrow temperature range. The whole phenomenon is explained in this article here.

There were never any aliens. There were never any spirits. And now, all the naysayers who denied science twiddle their thumbs in silence. Heh!!

Maybe 2008 will be a good year after all.

3 Responses to “Another geological mystery SOLVED”


  1. 1 Jess Christin December 28, 2007 at 10:54 pm

    I want to say that Jim is one of the smartest people I know. I’ve worked with him before, and he is completely dedicated to figuring out the answers to all the geological mysteries out there. He is a man of science, and he has always been concerned about finding valid quantitative and qualitative answers for the unknown. He also happens to be a very decent person.

    However, when it comes to the Buttermilk phenomenon we are talking about spontaneous strata fissures and volatile sinkholes – I’m sorry but it just doesn’t add up.

    We’ve had the scientists in my lab look at the footage, and honestly there is no natural phenomena that we could scour from our combined experience to explain this. The frequency and severity of the questionable occurrences on this mountain, are frankly, very eerie and disconcerting. I am a strong believer in science, but we must consider the alternative… could this phenomenon be due to something of the paranormal?

  2. 2 drjimvaile December 31, 2007 at 8:11 am

    Jess, I would have expected more from you. You KNOW Buttermilk is an explicable phenomenon. You KNOW “considering alternatives” is opening up a bag of worms that lets idiots like Gary discredit me.

    They have me pegged as crazy Jess. You know me better than that. I need your support damnit!

  3. 3 my12p0und3r January 3, 2008 at 10:12 pm

    volatile sink holes!!! hahahahahahahahaha. you people kill me. xplosive gas and angry holes, lmao.

    Come on guys, we had record snowfalls in December, just put down those keyboards, loosen up and ride that mother! Dorks.


Leave a Reply

