“Alive” can mean different things

Now that I’ve added this video showing the violent strata shift to the BIA website I’ve been receiving faux emails from pranksters with subject lines like Buttermilk Is Alive and the Monster in the Mountain. Rest assured, nothing has changed in m mind, I know there is no creature lurking underneath the snow.

So to answer the question about the mountain swallowing things, 😉 I believe the region shares the sharp velocity mantle transitions that characterize the Cenozoic Uplift, but in the case of the Buttermilk sinkholes in particular, I suspect the terrain shifts are a result of the mantle being porous – which is extremely rare for this area, not sure how it developed – which gains pressure as gas fills up those spaces, until it is released violently through spontaneous fissures in the ground, and then recedes as the gas is expelled. I developed this theory in 1994 (see March log entry on my site) and for the most part it still holds water today.

So Buttermilk might be “alive” – just not the way they mean on the damn tee shirts.

4 Responses to ““Alive” can mean different things”


  1. 1 PrissyKitten December 18, 2007 at 10:03 am

    Hi Jim!
    I just need to know one thing. JUST ONE! Is Buttermilk Mountain safe for casual skiing? Because I was planning a trip to the mountain, but I don’t want to get hurt. And I saw that professional skiers are even avoiding the mountain. PLEASE ADVISE!!! Thank you, sweetie!

  2. 2 drjimvaile December 18, 2007 at 12:22 pm

    This is what I know: ESPN holds an annual youth competition on the mountain around this time of year and professional athletes usually compete. I’ve spoken to some of them about the mountain and they share the same fears that I do!

    I’m sorry PrissyKitten, but if it were up to me I would reschedule your trip and the competition, there is too much of an X Factor to be sure.

  3. 3 my12p0und3r December 19, 2007 at 3:33 am

    haha X factor!!! pun on xtra terrestrial 🙂


Leave a Reply

